You are the Light Light of Self -Atmajyothi. Light of Self is Light of the Universe - Brahmajyothi. One who realises The Light of Self Becomes the Light for the World -Jagajyothi. Light of Love, Light of Wisdom, Light of Compassion, Light of Peace, Light Divine.
Purpose of Life : आत्मनो मोक्षार्थं जगद हिताय च- (Atmano Mokshartham, Jagad Hitaya Cha) Self Realization and Welfare of the World

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Six Pillars of Support for Spirituality

Life is a journey. We have taken several incarnations. We have been here for quite long. Due to good merit done in several life times, one develops desire for liberation from the cyclic existence. Desire arises for finding eternal peace with the Lord.

The purpose of human life is expressed beautifully by –“Atmano Mokshartham, Loka Hitaya cha”. For liberation of myself and for welfare of the Universe”.

Following are the supports available on the path for the aspirant.

1). Sadguru – Atma Guru - First Support

We need guidance on the path. Help of some one who has travelled the path and reached the destination is great support. While shastras provide good roadmap, there is every possibility of getting lost on the way. Getting lost in the forest of mind. We come across several guides on the path. We call them as Gurus. They show the way. Fortunate is the one who comes across Sadguru – Enlightened Master. Some one who has crossed the ocean of samsara. Some one who can handhold and show the way. Someone who is fully established in the Sakshi – Divine in living being. Some one who can teach in a simple way the truth of the scriptures. Some one whose life itself is a scripture. Without the guidance of Sadguru, nobody can cross the ocean of Samsara.
But Sadguru can only show the way. He/She can point a finger. But it is upto us to see the Truth. The True master within us. The Sakshi within us. The Sakshi is the Real Master – Real Sadguru. The role of Sadguru is to show us the Atma Guru. When we are established in Sakshi – witness in us, we realize we are one with the Sadguru. Atmaguru and Sadguru are one.

2). Shastras – Second Support

Study of the scriptures – shastras providing direction for liberation. Shastras are like road maps. Shastras are the wisdom teaching of enlightened beings. They provide the direction and land marks. It is the grace of the Sadguru that leads to us Shastras which speak of liberation and teach us the path. .

3). Sangha – Third Support.

Fellow travellers on the spiritual path provide great support. Fellow travellers on Spiritual journey provide us the motivation and support to complete our inner journey. We can participate in Satsangh, bhajans, discussions and service activities with our fellow companions to purify our inner consciousness. Without Sangha journey becomes beautiful and joyful.

4. Sadhana – fourth support.

The purpose of spiritual practice is to clean our mind stuff – chitta. Purified Chitta reflects the Divine Consciousness – Light of Divine within us. Essentially there are two paths for Sadhana – Path of Wisdom and Path of Purification.
Path of wisdom involves – self enquiry to find out who am I ? Path of purification involves cleaning up our egoistic and karmic impressions in the mind stuff – chitta. The path of purication involves Karma Yoga, Kriya yoga, Bhakti yoga or Jnana yoga depending on nature and temperament of the Sadhak. Type of Sadhana prescribed by the Sadguru is best. Sadhana also will vary during spiritual journey depending on the inner needs.

5. Seva – fifth Support

Service is the way for purification. Five yagnas – pitr yagna, deva yagna, rishi yagna, manushya yagna, bhuta yagna. Yagna is the way for repaying the debt of the existence. All the actions done in the form of Yagna purify the inner consciousness chitta and gradually lead one to freedom from the egoistic impressions in Chitta.

6). Sharanagati – Surrender – Sixth Support.

Surrender is the greatest support for the seeker. Surrendering all the actions done through body, mind and intellect, the karma phala of that to the Sadguru frees one from the karma phala. One gets established in Atmaguru – inner self.

No comments:

Post a Comment